Getting Into Riding

huskaii

I know there are a good few of you guys in the community that are into motorcycles, pretty sure @Nutter has a bike if i recall. Im trying to get into it because my dad has a bike that he will be giving me, and i want to learn to ride. Its not the sort of bike you would want to start off with, it being a 1000cc cruiser. So im wondering what I should start off with, and how i can make this process a lot easier for me. Im currently waiting to do my MSF to get my license, and have yet to purchase any gear or even start looking at bikes yet. Im leaning more towards a sport bike, one that i can ride around the city easily, while also not having a MASSIVE powerhouse of a bike to end up getting way too over my head in.

Currently im looking at some Ninja 400s or 300s, something smaller to start off learning on. If you have any other suggestions i would be open to see what you guys think. Keep in mine i am a college student so im not rich rich, im ballin on a budget here so to speak.

• The Garnut
2 hours ago, huskaii said:

I know there are a good few of you guys in the community that are into motorcycles, pretty sure @Nutter has a bike if i recall.

Nope, i'm just a car nerd. I'd really suggest you start off with a beater scooter, because 90% of new bikes have more power than somebody learning can handle, and it can really end up in a catastrophe. Sorry to sound like a boring old man, but out of my roughly 10 friends who used to ride, only 2 didn't have a story to tell me of a bad accident where they broke a bone.

1 hour ago, Nutter said:

Nope, i'm just a car nerd. I'd really suggest you start off with a beater scooter, because 90% of new bikes have more power than somebody learning can handle, and it can really end up in a catastrophe. Sorry to sound like a boring old man, but out of my roughly 10 friends who used to ride, only 2 didn't have a story to tell me of a bad accident where they broke a bone.